Today We Are One

September 11, 2011 § 1 Comment

Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock, you are well aware that today is the 10th Anniversary of that fateful day in September that our world was changed forever.

I remember that day well, much like those who were alive when JFK was assissinated or when Pearl Harbor was attacked.  I remember things I said that day, where I was, how I felt. I remember the time I spent at the Pentagon. The people I talked to, the smells, the fears, the emotions.  I remember looking at the downed light poles along the path that airplane took as it approached the wall of the Pentagon.  These are things I’ll never forget. Not just on the anniversary, but every day.  Because it’s my job. As an emergency manager, much of what I do has been impacted by what happened on 9/11/01.

Today I was honored to participate in a 9/11 Memorial Stair climb. I, along with hundreds of other fire and EMS providers throughout Virginia (and other states) converged on the Suntrust building in Downtown Richmond to climb the stairs 5 times, representing 110 floors, the height of the twin towers. Each of us worse a tag with a picture and name of a firefighter who perished that day. At the completion of the climb, we rang the bell, calling out the name of those we were walking for.  I can only say that it was an amazingly humbling experience. Some guys walked in full gear, others (like myself) chose street/workout clothes. Regardless of what we wore, we were all there for the same purpose. To show that we will never forget.  The emotions of the day were high and if you ever get a chance to attend the event DO IT!  Even more so, if ever given a chance to climb, DO IT!  I was proud to do the walk with my husband and brother in law, as well as many other friends.   Here are some pictures from the event.

The Procession In. With Amazing Grace on the bagpipes playing.

My husband ringing the bell in honor of David Halderman, Squad 18

My brother-in-law ringing in honor of Firefighter Thomas J. Foley

I was honored to climb and ring the bell for Firefighter Matthew D. Garvey, Squad 1, USMC.

Whatever you did today, I hope you did it with the almost 3,000 people who lost their lives 10 years ago on your mind and in your heart.

§ One Response to Today We Are One

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Today We Are One at Sticky Side Down.

meta

