Friday Five – Top Five Items on My EMS Wish List

December 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

Sorry for missing last week, but Black friday Shopping took over my psyche 🙂  I hope all of you had a fantastic Thanksgiving and were able to celebrate, whether with family, friends, coworkers, or by yourself. I hope you were able to reflect on the things you are truly thankful for.

Today’s Friday Five is in honor of the fact that it is December 2 (only 23 more days until Christmas) and the fact that it’s always nice to have a wish list.  Today’s friday five is:

Five Items on My EMS Wish List

1.  A first aid kit for my car –  I used to have one of these and then the great flood brought about by Hurricane Gaston made my beautiful Ford Escape a Ford submarine, and everything (including my nice car kit) went with it.  At this point in my life/career I don’t want anything too complicated. Enough that if someone needed my help, I could render aid. Now, I’m not talking about stopping for every accident I pass on the road, but at this point I couldn’t even give my own children a band-aid if they fell while we were at the park! It’s pitiful, don’t judge me 🙂

2.  A nice pair of steel toe boots – Now, I have about three pair of steel toe boots in my closet, but not a one of them would I consider my favorite, nor would I choose them as my preferred footwear.  In fact, most of the time I go with the boots that AREN’T steel toed because they provide more support. I want something that provides arch support, back support, breathes, and isn’t too heavy.  I also want them to fit the same when I wear the soles out and take them to be resoled. I’m not picky am I?  Heck, at this point I’d also take any suggestions.

3.  A quality stethoscope – Okay, in all honesty I was given the gift of a GREAT stethoscope by a salesman that I’m friends with when I started intermediate class, so this is actually on my wish list so that my husband (who would probably use it much more) could ALSO have a great quality stethoscope.

4.  Thermometer – This is obviously NOT for my ambulance EMS needs, but as a parent, I definitely play EMT at home a plenty. I think the worst I can never seem to find a thermometer, and when I do find it, it doesn’t function. I would love to have a thermometer that works, is functional, and is easy to use with my 2 and 5-year-old. Again, I’m not picky!

5.  Fluency in other languages – It is amazing the number of times I’ve come across a scene where another language has been a necessity. I once transported a patient who only spoke Mandarin Chinese.  Honestly, the only thing I’m fluent in that is mandarin, is mandarin oranges (I know, bad joke). I would love to be fluent in at least two other languages. I think most beneficial in fire and EMS would be Spanish and American Sign Language. I think I have with some regularity come across the need for those services. I now have one of those handy-dandy Smartphone programs that can translate what I need to be said (in Spanish only), but that certainly doesn’t help me in translating what they have said back to me.

So, what’s on your wish list? If you could have any 1 (or multiple) things, what would they be to help you provide medical care?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Friday Five – Top Five Items on My EMS Wish List at Sticky Side Down.

meta

