EMS Nutrition #7 – MMMM…Dinner

February 13, 2012 § 1 Comment

If I had to choose one dish for dinner for the rest of my life it would probably be a toss up between pizza and pasta. I could eat carbs for the rest of my life for every meal.  And for the longest time, I didn’t see any problem with that.  But as I got older my body was showing me there was a problem with how many carbs I was eating.  With the lifestyle e change that my husband and I have made, I”m definitely paying more attention to what I eat.  And dinner has probably been one of the biggest changes I’ve made.

So, as you plan dinner, here are some things to keep in mind.

1.  Watch your portions!  It is really easy to sit down at dinner and eat, and eat, and eat.  Unfortunately with dinner being the last meal of the day, unless you exercise late at night, those are calories that will not be burned.  With that in mind limiting the portions and helpings that you get is important.  Have you noticed that many restaurants have actually switched to smaller plates at dinner time.  Even restaurants have realized that portion control is important!

2.  Use whole grains!  One of the changes I’ve made to my pasta love is to switch to whole grains. They are actually less processed and healthier.  And honestly, except for the fact that cooking times increase by just a bit, I haven’t noticed a change (and more importantly, neither have my kids).

3.  Serve vegetables – Okay, this is one I’m not so good at.  If I serve vegetables it’s normally canned corn, mashed potatoes, or rice. One of the things to consider is to use the vegetables to add color to your plate. A colorful meal is most often a healthier meal (and no ketchup and mustard shouldn’t be the color).

4.  What your red meat! – You should attempt to limit your red meat meals to two a week. Consider using pork, chicken, or seafood to add variety to your meals.

5. What have you missed? – This may seem a bit funny, but consider this. Dinner is an opportunity you have to meet the needs of the food pyramid, to get the food group servings that you need. This is your last chance to make sure you’ve had a well-rounded nutritional day!

So, those are five items to keep in mind as you plan your next dinner.  Next week I’ll share some great dinner ideas, as well as websites for some great recipe ideas!

Until then, stay safe and don’t forget to follow on twitter (@stickysidedwn).

§ One Response to EMS Nutrition #7 – MMMM…Dinner

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading EMS Nutrition #7 – MMMM…Dinner at Sticky Side Down.

meta

