EMS Nutrition #9 – Healthy Dessert Options

March 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

For some people the end of dinner signals a time for a cup of coffee or a cigarette.  For me, it means it’s time to consider dessert.  Maybe it’s because I LOVE to bake and like to try things and then bake them myself.  Or maybe it’s because I have a MASSIVE sweet tooth.  Whatever it is, one of the things to remember during healthy eating is that you don’t have to completely cut out desserts. It just means that you have to consider some healthy alternatives to what you might normally make and eat.  This week I’m going to focus on some baking alternatives/snaking ideas and next week I’ll share some healthy recipes for some great desserts (and maybe a few not so healthy desserts!).

Dessert Considerations

1.  If you have a craving, choose to indulge!  Have you ever had that craving that just won’t go away?  Mine normally looks like this:

When I have a craving, I don’t go for some healthy alternative.  I go for a small serving size of my actual craving. Otherwise, I’ll just keep eating foods until I feel like I’ve met my craving, which normally ends with me eating what I wanted to begin with (in much larger quantities).  It’s okay to have an off moment and indulge in something that isn’t so good for you, if only to make sure you aren’t over indulging later.

2.  Consider desserts and snacks that are naturally sweetened. This will eliminate a desire to add refined sugar to your dish, packing on the calories

3. Consider dark chocolate- Dark chocolate has received recent news coverage as an anti-oxidant. Dark chocolate (must be dark, not milk)

4.  Consider altering your recipe – I’ve read lots of writing about substitutions in your recipe to make a dessert healthier, and while I will admit to not having tried most of them, the reviews I’ve read and heard are that some of the substitutions are wonderful. For instance, substitute unsweetened applesauce for some of the fat additives. Or, consider honey as a sweetener instead of sugar. Because it is in liquid form, you need to use only 3/4 cup honey for every cup sugar.  Additional substitutes can be found at: http://www.livestrong.com/article/366614-healthy-sugar-substitutes-in-baking/

5.  Never underestimate the power of fresh fruit – Some of the best desserts I’ve had have been cold/frozen fresh fruit. It’s naturally sweet flavors and the cold make it seem like a much better option than some of the other unhealthiest choices.  If you’ve never had frozen grapes, you are missing something!

Next week I’ll share some of my favorite healthy dessert recipes (and my not so healthy dessert recipes).

Until then, stay safe and remember to follow me on twitter (@stickysidedwn).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading EMS Nutrition #9 – Healthy Dessert Options at Sticky Side Down.

meta

