EMS Nutrition #10 – Healthy Dessert Recipes

March 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

You know, it really is hard to admit when you fall of the wagon, but I think I’ve been run over by a wagon wheel. The past two weeks I feel like I’ve fallen off the fitness wagon. I’ve not stopped working out, but instead of five days a week it’s probably 3 and I’ve definitely gotten less strict in my eating/drinking habits. I think we all have those moments, unfortunately mine has lasted longer than I would have liked. So, in my attempt to jump back on the wagon/train/whatever, I’m back with the healthy recipes.

Healthy Dessert Recipes

Strawberry Oatmeal Bars – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ree-drummond/strawberry-oatmeal-bars-recipe/index.html

I found this recipe the other day.  It’s amazing. You can add any filling, or even bake without a filling. You can also add dried fruit to increase the healthiness. Not only are they cheaper than buying the standard cereal bar at the store, they provide

Grilled Fruit – http://bbq.about.com/od/fruitrecipes/tp/10fruit.htm

As previously stated, fruit is a great natural sweet food that can be used as a substitute to your normal desserts. Grilling fruit adds a different texture/taste and can be a healthy variation of your standard foods!

Strawberry Shortcakehttp://www.mayoclinic.com/health/strawberry-shortcake/NU00562

This is a healthier version of a strawberry shortcake. The link actually also provides nutritional information.

Apple Piehttp://tastykitchen.com/recipes/desserts/apple-pie-2/

Okay, so this isn’t exactly a healthy recipe, but it does have fruit, so that counts right?  I think though we have to have that one fall to recipe that allows us to splurge. So, this is my “splurge” (well, at least one of them).  This is one of those recipes I make and then take to the fire station for my husband to share with his shift.

So, those are a few recipes. There are many others. Don’t forget to look at post #9 for the alternatives to baking ingredients (including applesauce).

With all areas of eating covered, next week I’ll begin looking at taking care of ourselves mentally.

Until then…stay safe and don’t forget to follow on twitter (@stickysidedwn)!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading EMS Nutrition #10 – Healthy Dessert Recipes at Sticky Side Down.

meta

