Have You Set Your Goals?

January 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

y Notice I didn’t ask if you had made any resolutions!  I don’t believe in resolving, I believe in setting goals. While I’m not sure there is a difference, to me a goal is attainable. So, I ask, Have you set your goals?  It’s a new year and a great time to start.  I have two lists, personal goals and professional goals.  Each has more than one goal, because I’m an overacheiver 🙂  Seriously just kidding.  I have multiple goals because I like the motivation and purpose. It drives me. I thought this would be a great place to share goals so that I can be held accountable and so that I can come back to them and remind myself exactly what I’m working to and striving for.

Personal Goals
1.  Family First – I will spend more quality time with family, both as a family and individually with each of my sons and my husband.  It’s so easy to get wrapped up in work, the volunteer agency, errands, etc. and forget to just enjoy the moments and create the memories
2.  Don’t push my limits – As many of us in the system are, I’m often over extending myself and taking on too much. I”m goign to make sure that I don’t overwhelm myself with too many tasks.  I’ve already started off on the right foot by committing to only one full EMT class a year
3.  Make time for me – As a mom, wife, employee, supervisor, agency leader, daughter, etc. it’s easy to focus on everyone else and to forget to take time for me.  When I forget to do things for me I become overstressed. This year the things for me will focus on improving my health, my fitness, and my overall general feeling of self (I am my worst critic).

Professional Goals
1.  Decrease the negative output and increase the positive examples – It is easy to slip into the negative attitude at work. Instead of focusing on the negative, I am going to take my ability to focus more on the positive.  Now, I’m not saying that I’m not going to have negative comments, but I will definitely do it less, or at least save it for at home (instead of in front of my employees).
2.  Write more – Not just assigned writings, but this blog, my thoughts, etc.  I like to think I have great information to share, but I often don’t share it for fear of what people will think/say (thus the often long breaks between posts). I want to share my ideas and advance EMS, Emergency Management, Health and Safety with others.
3.  Train more and put into practice – I was certified as an ALS provider in June and just last week got on the ambulance for the first time.  There is something SERIOUSLY wrong with that.  The great part is that if I succeed at personal goal 3, I will also be able to do this, because sometimes the best “me” time I take is riding on an ambulance.

So, those are my goals. The best part about them is that I am in control of them. I am the one that will control whether or not I succeed at them. If I don’t, I am the one that is responsible.

So, what are your goals, either professional/personally or both?

Thanks for reading and until next time…stay safe!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Have You Set Your Goals? at Sticky Side Down.

meta

