EMS Nutrition #8 – Dinner’s Served!

February 21, 2012 § Leave a comment

If you ask my husband, he’ll admit that as a baker I excel. I can get a recipe and churn out some great desserts and even breakfast baked goods. But, when you ask me to cook/grill, I’m definitely much worse off. I have a few standard recipes that I can turn to that I know my family likes, but I don’t stray very far from baked chicken, pasta, hamburgers, or steak/potatoes. This year I actually cooked my first Thanksgiving turkey and I was amazed it turned out okay. Granted, my standard was that it didn’t make anyone ill, so I had set the bar low!

However, with the changes we’ve made in our physical fitness and eating habits, I’m always looking for new recipes and new ideas for healthy dinners. With two picky kids, it makes it a bit harder, but we’ll keep trying new things! 

Here are a few places I search for recipes and a few recipes I use.

Ritz Cracker Chicken

Here’s the recipe: http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/main-courses/ritz-cracker-chicken/

This recipe creates a moist and tender chicken breast that has some great flavor to it

Lasagna

I like lasagna because it always leaves some leftovers.  Remember to cosnider low-fat cheeses, lean meats, and whole wheat pastas.

Here’s a link to a lower fat/lower calorie recipe: http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/better-than-ever-cheesy-meat-lasagna-91438.aspx

Websites I Use

Kraft Recipes: http://www.kraftrecipes.com/home.aspx – not only can you search based on which meal you are making but you can also enter a few ingredients you have on hand and they will provide you with a recipe that you can make!

Food Network – http://www.foodnetwork.com/healthy-eating/index.html – They actually have a portion of the website that focuses specially on healthy eating and healthy recipes.

Livestrong – http://www.livestrong.com/recipes/ – As I started researching the nutrition posts, I came across the Livestrong website. I’ve been impressed by the information provided and the recipes available. I’d definitely recommend checking it out.

So, there are a few websites and ideas for you as you plan your next dinner/shopping list.  Are there any recipes you have that are your “go-to” recipes?  If so, make sure to share!

Also, don’t forget the giveaway that is going on!

Until next time, stay safe and don’t forget to follow on twitter (@stickysidedwn)!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading EMS Nutrition #8 – Dinner’s Served! at Sticky Side Down.

meta